Structured Cabling Standards You Should Know About

Share Post
Structured Cabling Standards You Should Know About in 2022

When guaranteeing an infrastructure, installation, or project for a cabling system, LayerLogix is based on a series of Structured Cabling Standards, established by the body involved in their development.

This facilitates the correct operation and performance of the installation, as well as the reduction of unnecessary and potentially harmful risks for the operation of the implanted system.

Structured Cabling Standards

  • MSAs (Multi-Source Agreements) – Specify parameters for system components and their guideline values, such as the electrical and optical interfaces, mechanical dimensions, and electromagnetic values.

  • UL (Underwriters Laboratories) – Evaluates cable products under more than 70 different product categories, using more than 30 standards for safety. These are similar to the NEC (National Electric Code). UL 444 is the safety standard for communication cables and UL 13 is for the power cables.

  • ECA (Electronic Components, Assemblies, & Materials Association) – Enacts standards for passive and active electronic components: component arrays and assemblies; and commercial and industrial electronic equipment and supplies.

  • CEA (Consumer Electronics Association) – Provides a unified technology roadmap critical to consumer electronics industry growth. Enable innovation and foster interoperability with existing devices.

  • TIA (Telecommunications Industry Association) – Founded in 1985 after the breakup of the AT&T monopoly. It develops voluntary industrial wiring standards for many telecommunications products and has more than 70 preset standards.

  • ANSI (American National Standards Institute) – It is a nonprofit organization that oversees the development of standards for products, services, processes, and systems in the United States.

    ANSI is a member of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).

  • EIA (Electronic Industries Alliance) – It is an organization formed by the association of electronic and high technology companies of the United States whose mission is to promote the development of the market and the competitiveness of the high technology industry of the United States through local and international policy efforts.
ANSI/TIA/EIA-568-BTelecommunications Wiring in Commercial Buildings on how to install Wiring
ANSI/TIA/EIA-569-AStandards for Telecommunications Routes and Spaces in Commercial Buildings on how to route cabling
ANSI/TIA/EIA-570-AResidential Telecommunications Infrastructure Standards
ANSI/TIA/EIA-606-ATelecommunications Infrastructure Management Standards in Commercial Buildings
ANSI/TIA/EIA-607Requirements for installations of Telecommunications grounding systems in Commercial Buildings
ANSI/TIA/EIA-758Customer-Owner Standard for External Telecommunications Plant Wiring
ANSI/TIA/EIA-942Telecommunications infrastructure standard for data centers
J-STD-607Standard for Telecommunications Grounding and Bonding Requirements in Commercial Buildings

The standards are also driven by trends in the structured cabling industry, such as the convergence of voice, video, and data applications, as well as increased bandwidth.

In the link, you can learn more about it…

Or ask us any questions in case you have come to our website looking for answers about structured cabling overall. Want to talk?

Need Help with IT?

At LayerLogix, we pride ourselves on offering pain-free IT Support and Services. From Networking to Cyber Security, we have solutions to support your business. 

Let us manage and maintain your IT, so you can focus on your core business. For a consultation, call us today at (713) 571-2390.